Tigers tame Lions

Members of Bangladesh Cricket team, the winners in the three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka pose with the trophy at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on Monday.

Sabbir Hossain :
In a thrilling display of cricketing prowess, the Bangladesh Cricket team emerged victorious in the One Day International (ODI) series against Sri Lanka, capturing the hearts of fans with their remarkable performance.

The stage was set at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Cricket Stadium in Chattogram on Monday, where the Tigers showcased their mettle against the Islanders in the third and final ODI.

With a resounding four-wicket win, Bangladesh etched their name in the annals of cricket history, sealing the series 2-1 Chasing the Lions’ fighting total of 235 within the allotted 50 overs, the Tigers demonstrated their batting prowess, reaching the target with ease at 237 for the loss of six wickets and an impressive 58 balls to spare.

The innings commenced auspiciously for Bangladesh, with openers Anamul Haque and Tanzid Hasan forging a solid 50-run partnership.

However, their momentum was halted when Anamul Haque (12) fell victim to a catch at extra cover by Avishka Farnando off the bowling of Lahiru Kumara.

Tanzid Hasan emerged as the standout performer, delivering a stellar knock of 84 runs from 81 balls, embellished with four sixes and nine boundaries, showcasing his remarkable talent and composure under pressure.

Upon Fernando’s dismissal, Najmul Hossain Shanto entered the crease but failed to make a significant impact, departing after contributing just one run, caught behind by wicketkeeper Kusal Mendis off Lahiru Kumara.


Despite his brief innings, Shanto’s consistent performance throughout the series earned him the accolade of Player of the Series, amassing a total of 163 runs across the three ODI matches.

Subsequently, Tanzid Hasan and Towhid Hridoy added 49 runs to the scoreboard before Hridoy’s departure, caught at deep backward square by Pramod Madushan off Lahiru Kumara, with Bangladesh’s score at 105 for the loss of three wickets.

The middle order faced further setbacks as Mahmudullah Riyad (1) fell prey to a catch behind the stumps by Kusal Mendis off Lahiru Kumara, leaving the hosts at 113 for four.

Tanzid Hasan’s impressive innings was cut short when he was caught at long-on by Charith Asalanka off Wanindu Hasaranga, with Bangladesh’s score standing at 130 for five wickets.

After Tanzid’s departure, Mushfiqur Rahim and Mehidy Hasan Miraz formed a valuable partnership, adding 48 runs in the sixth-wicket stand before Miraz (25) was caught by Pramod Madushan off Wanindu Hasaranga with the hosts at 178 runs for the loss of six wickets.

After Miraz’s departure, Mushfiqur Rahim and Rishad Hossain guided their team to the victory target, putting on 59 runs for the unbroken seventh-wicket partnership.

Rishad Hossain remained unbeaten with 48 runs, scoring off 18 balls with four sixes and five fours. He also took one wicket for 51 runs and was adjudged the Man of the Match.