contempt of court 7 lawyers exempted from personal appearance


Court Correspondent :
The Appellate Division of the Supreme Court exempted seven pro-BNP lawyers of the Supreme Court from appearing personally in a contempt of court case filed against them for passing derogatory remarks on two Appellate Division Judges.

A four-judge Appellate Division Bench led by Chief Justice Obaidul Hasan passed the order as they earlier submitted an application.

The court has also asked them to give a written explanation regarding the contempt of court by July 25.
The seven lawyers are- Barrister Kausar Kamal, late AJ Muhammad Ali, Fahima Nasreen, Md Abdul Jabbar Bhuiyan, Barrister Md Ruhul Quddus Kajal, Md Mahbubur Rahman Khan and Gazi Kamrul Islam.


Of them, AJ Muhammad Ali died last month and was acquitted from charges.

On August 29 of last year, appeals were filed by Supreme Court lawyer Md Nazmul Huda, against the seven lawyers for contempt of court based on the statements given in a press conference about two judges of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court.

On November 15 last year, the seven lawyers were asked by the court to appear on January 15 to explain their role in the question raised in the contempt of court petition based on the statement given in the press conference.