BNP dissolves committees of Dhaka South, North


Staff Reporter :
Main opposition party-BNP has dissolved its convening committees along with the central committee of the party’s youth wing Jatiyatabadi Jubo Dal and Dhaka City units of its student wing Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal in a surprising move.

The party dissolved the convening committees of its Dhaka South and North city units as well as Chattogram and Barishal city units.

BNP Senior Joint-Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi announced the decision in a press release on Thursday.
Besides, the central committee of Jubo Dal, led by President Sultan Salahuddin Tuku and General Secretary Abdul Monayem Munna, were also dissolved. According to another press release, Chhatra Dal’s Dhaka North, South, East, and West unit committees were also dissolved.

The fresh committees for these units will be announced at a later date.


The press release stated that the new committees for these units and the central committee of Jubo Dal will be announced later.

Meanwhile, Ruhul Kabir Rizvi told journalists that those committees which ended their terms have been dissolved as per the party’s constitution.

Party insiders said that the main reasons of dissolving the committees due to failure in the movement and, in some cases, the inaction of certain leaders.