BD take control after Lanka reduced to 119-5


Agency :
Bangladesh bowlers dominated Sri Lanka batters again as the visitors were slumped to 119-5 at stumps on Day 2 during the second innings at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Saturday.

Dhanajaya de Silva was unbeaten on 23 and Vishwa Fernando on 2, extending their lead to 211 runs at the close of the day’s play.

Nahid Rana won the spotlight yet again grabbing two crucial wickets on Day 2.

Following the Tea session, Rana soon got rid of Kusal Mendis (3), when the batter gave away his wicket while facing a bouncer.

Then spinners joined the party, as Mehidy Hasan Miraz trapped Dinesh Chandimal into LBW and Taijul removed Angelo Mathews as he tried to cut the ball but it edged faintly through to the wicket-keeper.

Shoriful returned Dimuth Karunaratne to give the breakthrough, ending a 49-run partnership with Dhananjaya de Silva.


Nahid Rana sent back Nishan Madushka for 10 at the stroke of tea, with Dimuth Karunaratne still at the crease.
Sri Lanka bowlers shared all the wickets with Lahiru Kumara taking three wickets on Day 2, joined by Vishwa Feranando and Kasun Rajitha to bundle Bangladesh on 188 runs.

The hosts resumed the day on 32-3, trailing Sri Lanka by 148. Nightwatchman Taijul Islam scored the highest 47 runs alongside Shahadat Hossain and Litton Das playing short innings on 18 and 25 runs respectively.

Tailenders Khaled Ahmed (22) and Shoriful Islam (15) formed a 40-run partnership only to reduce the margin.

Shahadat played a few attacking shots before he fell to Kumara.

A late swinger knocked off Litton’s middle stumps, sending him back for 25 after a brief spell with four boundaries.

Sri Lanka posted 280 runs in their first innings on the first day thanks to centuries from De Silva and Kamindu Mendis, who both scored 102.